Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobiles phones in communication has negative effects on young people’s reading and writing skills. Agree or disagree

The skills related to writing and reading has always condemned as crucial tools in communication. Many afraid that, however, the popular use of computers and mobiles phones in daily interaction would hamper these skills. In my opinion, there are both pros and cons of this that will be discussed below.

The popularity of technological gadgets, on the one hand, could lead to a drop in people’s writing and reading ability for several reasons. First, it is a norm that given the advanced and sophisticated features in apps such as Facebook, young people tend to abbreviate their words or even send stickers only to deliver their messages. This habit, in the long run, would ruin young’s capability to use grammar, punctuality, vocabulary appropriately. Another fact to note is that the constant messages and notifications received lead users in a flow of chatting and replying all time. They thus have no time left to gain knowledge related to reading and writing skills as well as practice them.

The use of hi-tech gadgets is detrimental, but it is not to say that users have no chances to improve these skills through cell phones and computers. A lot of cutting-edge apps or websites nowadays, correct an essay within several seconds, giving users more chances to use the language more appropriately. Furthermore, given the global connection, people could use phones or computers to discuss over a given topic with people in a lot of forums. As a result, they would improve their writing skills when finding ways to make their words understandable as well as have ability to analyze and read others opinions.

To recap, it seems to me that the use of technology is beneficial, provided that people find appropriate environment in which they can practice their skills. Otherwise, the convenient and distracting features of these equipment could make users less likely to read and write well.