Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening.Do you think the advant

There has recently been a debate about the uprising of surveillance to citizens daily life. While some of the citizens believe that the surveillance has invaded personal life, most of the citizens think the new technology will ensure a better living style in many ways.

On one hand, people lose privacy when their daily life are being monitored. A recent study shows that 70% of the population with smart phones are unaware that they are being monitored. The new technology provide cell phone with a smart tracking device which allow the server to access each cell phone physical location. This feature expose the geographic location of individual. Additionally, installing security cameras to a building do not stop crime. They bring the criminal to justice after the crime happened. The security cameras can not protect a building but to introduce a visual warning to those criminals. A security system is costly to the residences for this reason.

On the other hand, the new technology provides citizens with better living in many ways. The camera installs on individual smart phone allow people to have visual and low cost conversation from one end to another. New developed software likes skype are using wifi connection instead of traditional phone line. The connection transmits data which is much cheaper and more user friendly. Another advantage of using remote surveillance system is to allow fast response time to real time situation. New hospitals have the cameras installed to monitor patients daily life. The monitoring system ensures individual's emergency is addressed immediately.

To conclude, despite the fact that more and more privacy issues due to the popular monitor technology, the new technology provide us a convenience and quality of life.