Nowadays there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is believed that these days, media channels solely cover bad news regarding issues and urgencies, which has detrimental influences on each person as well as society, instead of highlighting the positive ones. Personally, I agree with the aforementioned idea, but I think its advantages should be mentioned.

On one hand, there are certain merits of posting problems and emergencies on social media. First, that individuals are bombarded with a barrage of bad news on a daily basis adversely affect their mental health. This is because life with numerous responsibilities is stressful as it is, and learning more about such reports makes them more stressed out and pessimistic. If the worst comes to the worst, they are likely to suffer from depression. Moreover, the growth of unpleasant reports leads to brain drain. For instance, if Afghan young population daily excessively expose news about wars and terrorist attacks, they will hold a grim view about the prospect of their nation and move to another places which ensure their safety.

On the other hand, a concentration on bad news and emergencies brings certain advantages. First, crime news can play a role in educating the public about justice, or it can prevent offenders and help individuals know how to protect themselves from crime. For example, people may avoid walking alone late at night, especially women, in order to evade sexual harassment crimes. In addition, reports of serious accidents could raise the public's awareness of road safety. Therefore, they might obey the rules because they know the consequences of irresponsible driving habits.

In conclusion, I believe that unpleasant news has negative impacts on individuals as well as the whole society; however, this tendency may have merits in some ways.