Some people say that we do not need printed newspapers anymore. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that traditional newspapers will be on the wane in the digital era due to the dominance of internet-based news. Although I agree that certain advantages may be brought by online ones, I think that printed versions can not be dispensed with.

To begin with, accessing news on the Internet has various merits in some ways. First, e-paper keeps readers up to date faster than conventional newspapers. For example, during the COVID-19 pandemic, the number of confirmed cases was easily updated to the minute online while that of printed news took a few days to publish. Moreover, digital news helps people save their money and time. It means that if they use such versions, they can have access to different types of information sources with no cost and enjoy their own comfort at home instead of going to newsstands and buying traditional ones. Finally, its materials are virtually richer than traditional publications because they include illustrations such as clips and records that are impossible to appear in printed ones.

On the other hand, I believe that conventional versions are still dispensable for a variety of reasons. The first is that they are one of the most reliable sources of information. Because everyone may freely create and upload articles on the Internet, untrustworthy materials have not been fully censored before release. As a result, readers are bombarded with a barrage of news about dysfunctional happenings in their country, resulting in their grim view about the prospect of their nation. In addition, apart from young consumers, there are still older ones who find it difficult to read news on electronic devices' screens, so the printed press is considered an optimum alternative for them.

In conclusion, while individuals are increasingly giving preference to digital newspapers due to their ability to be updated quickly and without payment, I strongly convince that there is no longer a vital position for the conventional press.