Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, it has become much easier for people to catch up with the latest news on urgent issues as a result of the extensive media coverage of these problems. While I agree that this trend can be detrimental, I believe that there are still several beneficial effects.

On the one hand, the increase in the number of problems and emergencies reported can be seen as negative for both personal and broader social reasons. On an individual levels, the trend towards media reports focusing on these aspects of life may lead to a loss of the sense of security. Consequently, citizens will become over-cautious, which will hinder the establishment and development of certain social relationships. From the society’s perspective, the more people are exposed to these negative pieces of information, the less reliable they find the authorities to be. In order words, their faith in the management of governments may be badly shaken, which can be potentially dangerous to the operation of existing society.

On the other hand, the personal and social arguments given above can be considered from the opposite angle. Firstly, it is the responsibility of the mass media to report news on current problems such as disasters and infections, which allows people to better protect themselves from any potential financial loss, health damage and physical injury. For instance, thanks to the timely reports on a devastating storm approaching Ho Chi Minh City in 2016, the evacuation of residents from all affected areas were performed promptly and effectively, and no casualty was incurred. Secondly, problems are more likely to be resolved efficiently when they are covered to keep people informed. There are certainly issues, especially those related to the economy and environment, which cannot be settled by any individual or organization alone.

To conclude, although the aforementioned trend may have certain adverse impacts, I suppose that it can also bring about several benefits for individuals as well as society.