Nowadays, the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology.

In what ways has the technology affected the types of relationships people make?

Has this become a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, technology is becoming more popular than ever. It is everywhere on the planet and affects every single part of our lives. In the next few paragraphs we are going to discuss the impact of technology on our social lives and why I think that impact is both positive and negative.

First, technology has made our lives better in several ways. First of all, connecting with people has become like never before, for instance: you reach anyone, anywhere and anytime with just a click of a button. Secondly, you are able to meet with people living very far away from you online, for example: you can make a video call through your webcam and it would feel like you two are at the same place. Furthermore, it enabled us to learn more about any country in the world and thus we can keep up with our beloved one’s news.

On the other hand, technology may have dealt some negative effects on us in many aspects. Firstly, it has limited our face-to-face interactions with one another, e.g.: some people would rather send a message to their friends than meet up with them. Moreover, with the technological advancement, people seem to become more and more lonely than the earlier eras, for instance: they tend to stay on their phones or laptops all day every day, hence decreasing their interaction with humans. Lastly, we tend to spend several hours, more than recommended, on technological devices which leads to separation from the real world, such as: we deplete our time staying in the virtual world of social media or games.

All in all, the precedent was a discussion of the impacts technology has had on our lives and why I think that technology is a double-edged sword because despite having so much positive effects on our lives as it made life easier for us, it also has some negative ones as it limited our times with our beloved ones rendering our social life pale and dull.