Nowadays the way people interact with each other has changed because of technology.

In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make?

It is socially believed that the way people communicate in this era, has been affected by technology, as it has modified. The way people convey messages, as it resulted in reduced human interaction. This essay will discuss the benefits brought about by technology, as well as the drawbacks.

Family comprised of members of the extended family. People used to visit each other and quality time, chatting and talk about all issues pertaining to life. This was done before modernisation sets in. For instance, during Christmas holiday, we used to travel to our rural area with members from different households. We would lit the fire and make a round circle, as my grandmother narrated her interesting tales and we would laugh our lungs out. Looking at nowadays, it is all replaced by use of phones, as people use whatsapp and video calls for chatting. People can now send money via mobile networks. Family interaction is reduced and has lead to broken marriages and uncontrollable behaviours in children.

On the other hand, technology has brought a green light to the human race. People use to travel long distances, if they want to convey a message or write which could take ages to reach the intended recipient. Too much time is no longer spend on travelling, as well as cutting down on transport expenses. For example, when my mother passed away, a police radio was uses to convey message to my brother and it took more than a week, for him to get the message.

In conclusion, nothing can replace the value of relationships being taken over by technology People spend too much time on social media and not create time for interaction, therefore, the benefits of technology can not outwit the drawbacks it has brought to human race. Parents are loosing control of their children, as they are regarded to be as backward because they live in the 20th century.