Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads

For many people around the world, the preferred method of transportation is high-speed rail. Communters travelling to and from work rely on the safety and efficiency, whill tourist appreciate the convinience and novelty that trains provide. Other believe that highways, busses and regular trains should be improved before new, high-speed lines are added.

Safety is chief among concerns for those who travel to work or school on a regular basis. If one drives a car, they have to concentrate on the road not only to avoid accidents but also to prevent other drivers from causing a problem on the road. High-speed rail allows communter to leave the driving to the professional controlling the train, allowing them to get some work done while getting to work safely.

In addition, people tend to move further and further away from city centres, where land and houses are more affordable. High-speed rail allows these commuters to travel greater distances in a shorter amount of time. There is a flow-on effect here, because if we can redyce the number of cars on the road, we can also cut down on traffic jams and road delays.

On the other hand, high-speed trains are expensive, and some believe this money could be spend on repairing motorways which are used by cars, busses and motorcycles. Another possibility would be to use this money to build more regular communter trains and busses to service the ever- expanding urban populations. Morever, boats and ferries could benefit from a budget which focuses more on existing forms of transport.

In the end, public transport is an issue which affects us all. The taxes which we pay should be spent on the type of transport which will have the most benefit to all citizens. In addition, we need to take into account how much the environment is damaged by fossil fuels and pollution. therefore, I believe in order to move forward, we need to embrace the idea of high-speed rail so that future generations can continue to live safely and efficiently.