Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is socially agreed that in this day and age people have a wide range of things to choose from and make their own decisions. This essay agrees that we have the will power to know and choose what we want.

Modernisation has brought remarkable positive changes in our lives. People are now well vexed on all things on earth, provided that one is not ignorant. We can now make informed decisions. For instance, in most African countries it was a taboo to discuss issues of sexual abuse, therefore perpetrators used to take advantage of that to exploit victims. But now its being discussed everywhere and support centres like victim friendly units and adult rape clinics were setup to support the survivors. It is now one's choice either to report the offender and seek help or suffer in silence as it is not encouraged to do so.

Furthermore, technology brought a light to the human race. Internet is now readily available to all countries, including underdeveloped nations. It is now more like a basic need. For example, longback people were not knowledgeable about some health practises, such as dangers of smoking or predisposing factors for conditions like diabetes mellitus and preventive measures, as well as treatment modalities. But now know how is all over on the internet, you can now google and its upto you to choose what best for a positive change to stay health.

In addition, ancient days there were no schools to attend and learn. Nowadays humans are able to read and write. In the past people were cohesed to sign things that they could not read or understand, therefore it lead to high rate in cases of fraud. It is now that people read first and understand, what they are agreeing into so that they do not loose their properties or items of great value.

However, there are some people who come from backgrounds that do not permit them to be exposed to things like internet, owning a cellphone or even watching television. These people do not have choices to make well informed decisions because they are stuck in the past which is a sad reality.

In conclusion, people are now knowledgeable and can make sound and informed decision, this was brought about by modernisation and development of information technology. Only few people are affected by backgrounds and cultural practises.