Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world.

Nowadays solar energy has become an important source of fuel in the homes globally. This essay will discuss both the benefits and drawbacks of solar energy. Furthermore, the importance of solar energy being a clean source of energy and environmental friendly will be discussed.

Solar energy is beneficial to the environment as it cut down on air pollution, as it reduce carbon dioxide emission rate into the atmosphere. It is a clean source of energy as it relies on the sun for its effectiveness. For example, if you are using firewood, it emits carbon monoxide which pollutes the air, but solar energy does not produce any gases.

In addition, solar energy is cheaper, the only expense incurred is when one is purchasing the solar equipment. It is readily available and it is not imported like other fuel sources. For instance, electricity in Zimbabwe is imported from South Africa and Mozambique, so installing solar panels in the households decrease the government's electricity import bill. It is also controlled by household , therefore no risk of wastage.

On the other hand, solar relies on weather especially sunny weather. A disruption on the weather pattern will mean, there will be no solar energy for the particular day. It also cannot be used on a commercial-scale.

In conclusion, the advantages of using solar fuel outwit its drawbacks. It reduces the government expenditure, as it is not imported. The solar energy is managed at household level and is readily available.