Today, high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of society in which they are sold.To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is argued that, nowadays people experience high sales on goods due to ways in which they are showcased, while some buy them; even if, they are not a necessity. This essay agrees that, there are contributory factors to high sales and also methods of advertising will be highlighted in the report.

Modernisation has brought some trends in our society. Ownership of certain items or brands of other well known product is now associated with a person's status in the community. For example, putting on a perfume by Elizabeth Arden or clothing labels by Coco Channel is associated with the elite. Due to the way these products are marketed on social media or; even, television and the price tag which can be accessed by anyone. People now resort to buying these items knowing, they will be given a status in a society, as the product's worth is a public secret.

Furthermore, the price of goods determine the sales. Cheap items tend to attract a huge number of clients. Other people do impulse buying or buy things they do not need for the sake of lowerede price. For instance, a friend of mine bought a deep fat fryer, she never used it for 2 years and I asked her, the reason she purchased it and was amazed by her response, she reiterated that, " I bought it because it was on sale and the price was so insignficant".

In addition, peer pressure is also a major contributory factor. This is witnessed for items sold on social media platforms, such as facebook or instagram. There are people who buy materials on these platforms because of the many likes and comments the item has on the platform, inspite of the cost.

However, improvements of technology made people's life easy, back then humans used to move around to buy items, but now you can do it in the comfort of your home. Anyone can buy a product, despite not having time to move around doing window shopping, which is now done on internet. This had lead to high sales rate because it is not time consuming and has nothing to do with the marketing strategy, but, the necessity of that item.

In conclusion, developments in technology made people's life easier as it is not time consuming and lead to increased productivity. Higher sales is experience because of improvements in advertising criteria which outwit the need to purchase the item.