In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In certain countries high school leavers are advised to seek employment or take a vacation after completing their advanced level before they join tertiary instituition. This essay will firstly discuss the exposure they get as the main advantage and secondly, outline risk of not able to continue with their academic studies.

Financial independence is everyone's dream come true! It is advantegous for school leavers to seek employment so that they may become financially independent and not relying on pocket money from parents or guardian. This helps them develop a sense of responsibility as they will be budgeting their wages or salaries. For example when I was in high school I used to blame my brother that he does not give enough pocket money. This blame game came to an end when I was doing relief teaching after completing my high school studies, thus when I began to realise that sometimes wont be enough for everything you may need and you should save whilst you are working.

It is of paramount important to refresh after hustle of studying and from all exam fevers.A vacation is a must have if funds permit. Away from the books, taking a nature walk and having drinks with friends or meeting new people soothes the soul and mind. New and fresh ideas come as it helps set new as well as realistic goals.

Exposure of students to business world assist in making well informed decisions of their area of study interest. For instance, when I was in high school was interested in taking teaching as my career but after doing relief teaching ; I realised that my area of interest was nursing not teaching as it did not gave me joy. Furthermore, it is beneficial to students as it motivates them to work hard in their academics. For example, seen those in top managerial position because of their academics helps student develop a positive attitude towards academics.

However, seeking employment by school leavers might have negative impact on their academics as they might begin to enjoy financial freedom and refuse to continue with their studies. Further, demotivation can also affect them if there is no distinguition on promotion or renumeration according to one's qualifications as they will see no reason to continue with their studies. For example in most African countries promotions in government instituition does not come on merit but on political grounds.

In conclusion, the advantages of school leavers seeking employment before they proceed to tertiary instituition brings financial freedom, making informed decision and motivation outweighs the risk of students not able to proceed with their academics due to poor renumeration.