In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In the modern era of education and development, adolescents in certain countries are encouraged to work or travel for a year between completing secondary education and beginning tertiary education. This trend comprises of both positive and negative aspects. In this essay, we will discuss the merits and demerits for the young lads who decide on this.

First and foremost, students travelling for work before higher education instils global exposure and connectivity. Secondly, they get to witness a wide variety of cultural differences. Thirdly, the individuals obtain the opportunity to learn about the work culture beforehand which is a benefit for them at a later stage. For instance, it is believed that candidates who have prior work experience knowledge tend to perform well at workplace after acquiring jobs. This shows that it is beneficial for students to travel for work before the start of their university education.

Although there are positive aspects to this, travelling for work to a new different place induces a sense of loneliness and they may acquire certain influences that might be harmful to them. This can apply to both introverts and extroverts. If the students do not have a moral support to guide them, they are forced to become aloof. They get a feel of isolation in such new environments. In order to get rid of such loneliness and isolation, they may get addicted to bad influences. To give a clear example, we get to hear about many news information on students who get addicted to harmful habits and end their lives due to that. This proves that young people become isolated and get used to unnecessary habits that are not favourable to them when introduced to a new environment.

With the above aspects considered, it is evident that working before starting their university education provides both advantages as well as disadvantages. Therefore, it is necessary to outweigh the benefits against the drawbacks carefully before taking a wise decision.