In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In the modern era of education, taking a gap year off between high school and university has been encouraged in several nations. It seems that taking a year to work or travel in this way has enriched the future study of students. Nevertheless, like everything else, a gap year off has been a mixed-blessing. Both sides will be shed a light in the following essay.

Unquestionably, a year off after graduating can bring some plus points. First, students will have a chance to get real-life experience during this period. As a result, the know clearly what they want to become and choose exactly their mature at university. In addition, a gap year may be the time for students to relax after studying many years. Students can travel or do whatever they want throughout this year off so that they can return to their study in the best mood. Last but not least, it cannot be denied that students will be more indepedent and adapt to their new life at university better.

Generally, merits always go hand in hand with demerits. Firstly, it can be seen clearly that time is priceless and taking a gap year may waste time. Obviously, students who go to university immediately after finishing high school may graduate, get a job, and succeed earlier than students who choose a gap year. Furthermore, so long is a year that students may forget a lot of knowledge and their studying habit. That must be the obstacles for their future study. Finally, some students cannot see the benefits of university anymore and may decide to stop their study to make a living because their eyes are covered by the money they earned during the gap year.

Now the conclusion is self-confident with both bright and dark sides of taking a gap year between high school and university. Actually, whether helpful or harmful, it depends on the way students use their own gap year. Students should make full the positive effects and minimize the unfavourable qualities of taking a gap year.