In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

In the normal educational background, students should continue their degree to the next level at bachelor after their graduation in senior high school. Furthermore, the recent perspective said that students should take a rest for a while to go to travel or work before they want to continue at a bachelor's degree. This essay will explain the benefits and drawbacks according to this opinion.

the majority of people agree that we do not just take our skills in not only academic background but also other social life. for formal education, students learn about the hard skill, they know about mathematics, physics, geology, and etc. but they never know about the knowledge about their skills in practical life. Therefore, before they take a focus in college which is more focused on one particular skill, they should learn many things from traveling or working. This experience will expand their critical thinking and develop opportunities for their future professional skill. Furthermore, learning from traveling or working will develop their social circle which is they never take formal education. For instance, the student who gets an internship in the company will take more knowledge about their future career path because they learn about some problems that will be faced when they have work in compony. They also are ready with other soft skills as an employer such as communication, discipline, responsibility.

On the other hand, there are some drawbacks when the students choose to travel or work before a bachelor's degree. Firstly, some students should review again about their hard skills because the lost about 1 year not to study this skill. In addition, they also prepare this skill because they have to take the exam for university selection. Secondly, students who know about getting a salary to choose to be an employer rather than continue their studies. This situation happens when the student feels about comfort zone and they can sustain with this income and consider not to continue their education.

In conclusion, the benefits outweigh the negative impacts for the student who wants to travel and working before a bachelor's degree. While it lost 1 year's time, they take more opportunities to develop other skills outside formal education.