Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough time on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In the modern era of education, it is irrefutable that students gain abundant knowledge on various educational aspects. Proponents opine that at all stages of educational learning, from primary education to tertiary education, a plethora of time is spent on learning theoretical axioms and lesser time on practical learning. This essay will agree and discuss the reasons why this trend is being followed by educational institutions.

First and foremost, the academic curriculum of current day education aims at providing theoretical and factual knowledge to candidates. In all learning stages, pupils experience more of bookish learning than practical knowledge. For instance, school examinations as well as university examinations, consist of more theory subjects exams than laboratory practical exams. By enforcing this kind of learning, students are stuck within a circumference and unable to think beyond scope. Furthermore, they are restrained from any practical experiences of learning and are used to learning by facts.

Secondly, the academic syllabus remains the same for many years until the Government notifies a new syllabus change. This has adverse effects on the learning standards children as they are restricted to the same curriculum that was imposed years ago. To give a clear example, my brother at present studies the same syllabus that I studied eight years ago. This serves as a major drawback since there are a lot of updated developments and changes that are happening every day. To add on, learning the same old curriculum makes them by-heart and reproduce in examinations which is not a favourable condition as it limits the capabilities of creative thinking and learning new things.

To put it in a nutshell, it is clearly evident that pupils spend a lot of time learning factual descriptions rather than acquiring practical knowledge. It is believed that in the near future, updated curriculum and practical learning environment will be provided to students so that they excel with broad-minded knowledge in all walks of life.