Present a written argument or a case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the followin topic:

There are many different types of music in the world today, why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the international music that is heard everywhere.

Nowadays, various music genres are found around the globe. Music is soothing to the soul and brings healing to the wounded and crushed spirit in an amazing way. However, in my opinion traditional music plays an important role in our life, as it has deep roots of our culture compared to international music which might focus on the artist's life experience.

Music is all around us! It refreshes the mind, as well as bringing mental stability as one listen word for word and meditates upon it. Traditional music plays a huge role in societies as it brings consolation and is a way of communicating intended message to the people. For instance, in Zimbabwe at funerals, people sing traditional songs accompanied with dances which has a comforting effect to the bereaving family. In some cases the family members of the deceased can join in singing and dancing as a way of celebrating the departed's life.

Furthermore, traditional music existed from ancient times. It is a way of showcasing one's culture. People have a better understanding of the meaning of the lyrics of the traditional music, therefore, it is crucial for a nation to have its own cultural music for distinction. For example, the national anthem of a country is a perfect illustration of a traditional music.

However, celebrating cultural diversity is in the genes of humans. The younger generation prefer international music than traditional music genre. It is crucial to be considerate and give them a chance to enjoy the type of music they want, as they are energetic and globetrotters and they interact with peers from different nations. International music is fashionable especially to these younger people, as they are still exploring and spent much of their time partying and going to concert.

In conclusion, traditional music celebrates culture of a particular nation and mostly accepted by older people, whilst international music is usually in the heart of younger generation. Cultural music usually has a meaning in its lyrics and centred on comforting people and bringing psychological healing which international music does not offer most of the time.