Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can government do to help reduce the amount of rubbish production.

Lifestyle has undergone substantial changes over recent decades. Presently, in this materialistic world, a profuse amount of trash is being produced almost everyday by masses.  This has become a burning issue. This essay intends to account for reasons and remedies to address this worrying concern.

There are multifarious reasons behind this situation. First and foremost, excessive consumerism and materialistic attitude of masses are  responsible behind the problem of rubbish. To demonstrate, nowadays, a wide range of products are being advertised  with exaggeration by  companies in order to boost the sales. As a result, people get stimulated to buy things whether they need or not. In addition, most of people are under the influence of materialism and competitiveness. They have tendency to buy more and more latest products so that they have more superior possessions than their neighbors or relatives. This leads to replacement of old household stuff with new goods and older ones are thrown into landfill sites excessively. Needless to say, buying things unnecessarily under the influence of adverts and materialism results in surplus production of waste in the form of old household stuff thrown to dumping sites.

Further emphasizing on my point of view, growing usage of non-  biodegradable material also contributes noticeably in the rise of rubbish production. To make it clear, nowadays, in many parts of the world, the use of polythenes and other non biodegradable material for packaging of vegetables, fruits and households things is rising dramatically. Such non-biodegradable things do not decay easily and contribute in the problem of rubbish. What is more, the use of plastic in the manufacturing industries is another major factor, causing heaps of wasteful products. Hence, it is quite clear that non recyclable materials also surround us with the concern of rubbish.

Numerous remedial measures can be taken to vanish this situation. To commence with, the watchword three R's should be promoted in order to nip this evil in the bud. To be specific, three R's referred to reduce use, reuse and recycling of waste should be made a slogan so that people not only avoid buying things unnecessarily, but also help in collection of waste materials by using dustbin. As a result, rubbish production is likely to be addressed by this effort. In addition, discouraging people and manufacturers towards usage of non biodegradable materials can also be a reliable panacea to curb this problem.

To recapitulate, undeniably, an enormous growth in the rubbish production every year has become a menace for environment. Therefore, government, manufacturing industries and people should make collaborated endeavours to overcome this problem.