Nowadays young people spend too much of their free time in shopping malls. Some people fear that this may have negative effects on young people and the society they live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As consumerism is increasingly popular among young generation, there is a concern about adverse outcomes when people use the majority of spare time on shopping in mega malls. Personally, I agree that this trend is harmful, and this essay will explain how harmful it is to the society.

It is agreeable that consumerism does have its good side. For example, it boosts economic growth and generates frequent innovation. However, this lifestyle has detrimental effects which in my opinion outweighed the advantages.

When it comes to finance, consumerism actually does more harm to individuals than good. Firstly, it would raise the debt level to young customer, who usually do not possess a sustainable financial foundation. Take Korea as an example, young employees in this country are overdependent on credit cards; they often purchase transactions that they cannot afford. Therefore, according to some research, Koreans are facing one of the highest individual debt in the history. In addition to economic difficulty, debts would cause mental health problems, such as anxiety disorder or sleep deprivation.

Moreover, excessively spend free time on joyful shopping would lead to negative consequences in the long term. For most people, spare time is spent on sport activities in search of healthy improvement. Others leverage this time to recover productivity. Meanwhile, people who entertain by shopping will face lacks of these developments, therefore work less effectively and also have low-quality health. This outcome contributes to the observable situation among young people nowadays, in which they are likely to have serious health problems earlier than people in the past.

In conclusion, while some advantages are notable, the disadvantages of this trend have more considerable influence to not only health but also financial status of young people. Therefore, I believe excessive purchase for enjoyment is a harmful development to the society.