The range of technology available to people is increasing the gap between the rich and the poor. Others think it has an opposite effect. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

Due to the birth of cutting edge pieces of technology, the inequality between socio-economic strata has been increasingly serious. However, some believe that these inventions actually benefit people of low-income community. This essay will discuss both views and also provide my personal viewpoint about this topic.

On the one hand, according to many people, the easy availability to modern technology has gives poor people access to certain developments which used to be considered as privilege of the upper class. For example, thanks to the invention of the internet, user can learn about faraway cultures without leaving their accommodation. In the past, aristocrats had to travel to numerous region, which was unaffordable to any commoner. Additionally, in Vietnam, possession of electric devices such as television or refrigerator, which is a convention in the contemporary society, was the sight of wealth and prosperity in the last century. In light of these present availability, it is clear that some technological innovations no longer belong to merely the top class of a society.

On the other hand, however, while some inventions have become common, a wide range of newly invented technologies are giving rich citizens unfair advantages. Life expectancy of high-income people is outnumbering that of low-income group, on account of exceptional invention in medical field. Since remedies for certain incurable illnesses like cancer usually cost an arm and a leg, poor people often have to surrender before the sickness. Moreover, in metropolitan cities, in which the income gap between strata is usually the largest, there is a significant difference between living environment of the poor and the rich. While low-income community frequently lives in squalor, poor condition and exposes to hazardous chemical, people of the upper class always inhale fresh air, live in well-constructed accommodation which sometimes surrounded by artificially-made natural settings.

In my opinion, in the light of inequality listed above, technology actually widens the gap between socio-economic classes, and therefore aggravates inequality we are dealing with. In the long term, this would harm the fabric of the society.

To summarise, although easier availability to technology indeed benefits poor people, it even provides wealthy people with more advantages. However, innovation is essential for the society so it requires more consideration to determine whether it is negative or positive.