In a number of countries, some people think that it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Good transport facilities plays an important role in the lives of the people, community likewise the government. However, many individual believe that huge money should be used in the construction of new railway tracks to create fast trains between cities. Others say that the money should be used on the improvement of already existed public transport. This essay will analyse both views and draw a conclusion.

Although, it is believed that trains are much more environmental friendly than cars,and efficient train services will encourage people to leave their cars at home, which will reduce traffic congestion and carbon emissions. Nevertheless, considering the fact that trains have their timetable and stooping points, many passengers will miss them and have to wait for the next available ones. This will lead to many people missing important appointments, causing uneasiness, stressfulness and uncomfort. For instance, my uncle who has been unemployed for almost 5 years missed his scheduled job interview because he got to the train station 5 minutes after the train had left. He felt so frustrated and depressed.

Should money be spent on improving existing public transport? I believe this is a more better option as the populace needs better road infrastructure and good public transport. This will aid in reducing traffic jams, increase safety driving and serve as a good link network between the urban and rural areas. Furthermore, since each motorist pay tax that generate more revenue to the government, they are encouraged to create new road links and network for the people. For example, the Lagos state government in Nigeria, have extended the city roads, create new ones and provides new subsidized buses to ease traffic jams and ease transportation problems.

In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions, l think that spending more money in the improvement of the already existing public transport facilities will be more beneficial to both the government and it's citizenry. For instance, it will reduce traffic congestion, increase safety driving and amongst others generate more revenue to the government through payment of taxes and road fines.