In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It's argued by some individuals, in many countries, that it's important to spend excessive amounts of monetary funds for developing and maintaining new railway tracks that operate high speed trains between cities. On the other hand, some claim it's better to spend money on refurbishing the already present public transport infrastructure. In my opinion, fast trains will be helpful only if the existing transport system works adequately, so money should be spent wisely.

The public transit system can be termed the veins of a metropolitan because they are responsible for keeping the citizens and goods moving. Therefore, good trains and punctual buses are fundamental to the progress of a nation. They don't only boost trade and financial development but also help bring people of two cities close together. A great example of this is the opening of Islamabad-Rawalpindi Metro, that brought much needed prosperity and convenience to the twin cities. In simple terms, a good public transportation mechanism is very beneficial and worthy of investment.

As far as the high speed rail-network is concerned, it's more of a cherry on top rather than the pudding itself. A city should contemplate about investing in this venture only if it already has an efficient public transport. Otherwise, the problems won't get solved and it may prove to be a burden and humiliation. This is evident by the notorious Orange-Line Metro in Lahore, which is a modern high speed railway project in a city that has a poorly functioning public transport. To put it simply, a government should spend money on new ventures only when they achieve a good public transportation system.

In conclusion, both types of transportation have their own advantages. But fixing the basic transport system should be the top priority and fancy trains the second.