In a number of countries some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport Disucss both thes

There is a debate whether country should use money on building new rapid train railway lines or bettering current public transportation. I completely agree with the latter view because of several reasons.

On the one hand, rapid train is advantageous in overcoming traffic congestion problem. This is because rapid train has swift speed and operates in special railway lines which makes its passengers to arrive earlier than before. Therefore, spending money on building new rapid train railway lines will support more rapid trains to operate. The more rapid trains that operate, the less traffic congestion will occur. However, rapid train has expensive fare which will make people to be reluctant to switch from their private vehicles. Finally, traffic congestion problem will not be overcome by the existence of more rapid trains.

On the other hand, public transportation also has potential in overcoming traffic jam problem. By bettering current public transportation, people will feel more comfortable and safe in riding them. Moreover, public transportation such as Bus and MRT usually have affordable fares, which make people to be willing to switch from their personal vehicles. Thus, using money for bettering public transportation will have bigger possibility in overcoming traffic congestion problem.

In conclusion, using money for constructing new rapid train railways is good because it will support more rapid trains to operate which will help overcoming traffic jam problem. However, because it has expensive fare compared to public transportation, I completely agree that it is better to spend the money for bettering current public transportation which have bigger possibility in overcoming traffic congestion problem.