In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the phenomenon of inter-cities and intra-cities transportation and its corresponding impacts have sparked a massive dispute. In this regard, a remarkable number of individuals believe that a big proportion of funds should be spent on developing railways rather than improving current public transport. In my view, spending money on modification of fast-train railways is more beneficial than enhancement of public transport facilities regarding economy and environmental concerns.

Obviously, although a majority of the world’s population are working in megacities like NYC, London, and Tokyo, they live in nearby small towns or suburbs. Undoubtedly, it is necessary to provide them with fast and convenient facilities by which they have no problem to get their workplace. So, developing new railways for such fast trains would be a great solution. At the same time, these types of trains are capable of transferring efficiently far more passengers, than any other kinds of vehicles, as well as cargos to their destinations.

Moreover, environmental issues such as leaking petroleum into oceans and greenhouse gas emissions are the main concerns of humanity in the 21th century. Thus, spreading sophisticated modern electric or magnetic trains which don’t need to burn fossil fuels, contrary to traditional trains, may lead to decline of greenhouse gas emissions significantly. Meanwhile, under these circumstances there is less need to carry petroleum across oceans or to struggle new crude oil well discoveries. Consequently, leakage of pollutants into oceans and damages of the environment will fall.

On the other hand, we shouldn’t lose sight of others’ beliefs. They are of the opinion that governments should spend plenty of budgets to enhance existing public transportation. Expanding such facilities as buses or trams, eventually ends up to producing fewer cars and vehicles in even short-term. Far fewer cars in the roads make the cities far silent, and then the sound pollution in big cities will be alleviated. Psychologically speaking, the temper of city dwellers shall be milder and psychological disorders regarding high-pitched sounds will diminish.

To sum up, despite compelling arguments on both sides, I opt to support the idea that the merits of spending money on railroads instead of public transportation far outweigh its downsides. Imagine, without fast inter-city trains, we may witness congestion as long as the distances between cities in not far distant future.