The number of people interested in cosmetic surgery is increasing in order to improve their physical appearance Why do people do operations to change the way they look Do you think it is a positive or negative development

Cosmetic surgery in this day and age is hotly-debated topic that often divides opinion. People can surrender themselves to a cosmetic surgeon's scalpel due to numerous reasons. However, the drawbacks of cosmetic surgery cannot be overlooked.

First of all, it is worth considering the reasons for which people modify their looks with the help of cosmetic treatments. First reason is perhaps a person who cannot stand facing mirror due to distorted image and in low self esteem due to his/her own appearance can opt for plastic surgery and boost the confidence. Secondly there are plethora of occupations that demand impeccable beauty for instance Air-hostess and actors in glamour world, need to have a perfect look in order to be in a lime-light.

Furthermore, Plastic surgery can play a crucial role in restoring the actual look if someone is a victim of a major accident. Surgery that can bring their previous face/look back is a blessing to them. It can enable them to live their lives normally with confidence once again.

On the flip side, drawbacks of cosmetic treatments also cannot be ignored. Such treatments are loaded with huge amount of chemicals and steroids. Frequent use of such harmful chemicals can lead to numerous skin diseases and cancer in a long run.

To sum up, despite of its negative results, people are opting for cosmetic surgeries very often to enhance their looks and gain confidence. Weighing up both sides of the argument, the advantages of getting cosmetic treatment outweigh the disadvantages.