Nursing Homes.

Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion.

Some families nowadays no longer look after their old-aged member such as grandmother and grandfather, those prefer to in trust them into a folk’s home. This essay would discuss about the plus and minus of this action. One of the minus implications of sending elderly to nursing institution is phycological effect to the elderly and plus aspect is give family member more time to focus on their works. Reverse, I would say that take in care of the people who are being over the hill is become family’s duties.

In the one hand, Whole of elderly’s life has been given for their kids and families such us live, love, care and wealth, and become isolated people from the lovely community that they grow in is hurt. If this happening to the old-aged people would be resulted in to the deepest sense of them such as phycology matter; being quite, moodiness. As per my experience, in 2010 I have conducted the research in Mental Hospital in West Java; the data collected revealed that 48% of who aged above 65 years old stressed caused by loneliness; 36% despondent who are sent by their families to the nursing home. However, taking care by their families at home is more effective solution than send them to the care home.

On the other hand, sending the oldest family member to folk’s home provides the other member accept more time to focus on their career and kids because they have no time to nurse their elderly such as providing their meal and changing clothes. In a brief example, the survey conducted by Young Care Organization (YCO) in 2012, from 750 young couple asked 83% said that they have a lot time for themselves and more focus on their dreams. However, I would say that people would give their best for the oldest because they have give their life for their kids.

To sum up, even though sending the old-people to the nursing home gives beneficial to the families, beside that was hurt their heart and linked to phycological matters.