Online classes make conventional classrooms unnecessary. To what extent you agree or disagree?

There is a topic of interest that whether traditional classes can be dispensed by e-learning in the modern day. While virtual classes have certain benefits, I believe that physical classrooms are unreplaceable.

On the one hand, there are some compelling reasons for the rapid growth of web-based classrooms. Firstly, it is more cost-efficient to learn on the Internet. Students can have access to a variety of online courses with low tuition or even join lessons in the form of livestreams on social media platforms like Facebook and Youtube without fees. Secondly, a virtual environment help overcomes time constraints and geographical boundaries. As people can choose lessons that suit their schedule, they can manage their time actively in order to work more eirrespecly. Moreover, online learning connects tutors and learners all over the world, irrespective of their nations or locations; therefore, it affords people in remote areas to enrich their knowledge to improve their lives.

On the other hand, in spite of some benefits I have mentioned, I contend that the conventional learning model is not expendable. One of the reasons is simply some fields require physical interaction. Especially in subjects require elaborate lab set-up and equipment like chemistry, physics and biology, it is impossible to learn in the comfort of one’s home. Furthermore, the classroom dynamic is often scarce in online classrooms. There is a lack of two-way interaction due to the loss of the Internet connection, students’ distraction, and many other factors that lead to the reduction in academic performance. In the contrary, being taught face to face provides learners with opportunities to hone their skills through live discussions, team-working activities, which e-learning can hardly emulate.

Conclusion: In conclusion, although virtual classes are beneficial to a certain extent, I think that brick and mortal operation still plays an important role in education and, thus, should not be eliminated.