The only reason for people working hard is to earn money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that the size of the salary offered is the key consideration for people to work hard. Personally, I disagree with the idea because I believe that other factors also motivate us to work and compel us to work harder.

On the one hand, I agree that the financial prospects play a vital role in taking a job or starting a business for most people, considering the fact that we all need enough money to meet our daily basic needs. For example, to have a good quality of life, a handsome pay is necessary to pay for housing, bills, food and healthcare. In this case, most people tend to have a strong motivation to work hard, especially for those who are impoverished or disadvantaged in some way. Otherwise, they may find it challenging to support themselves and raise a family.

Nevertheless, I believe that there must be other considerations incentivizing people to work hard. Firstly, many professionals aspire to great feelings of job satisfaction, which can be achieved through hard work, the skills they learn and their professional accomplishments, rather than the salary they get. Secondly, some people spare no effort work because they want to help others and make their own contribution to society. For example, volunteers work hard to promote activities that contribute to solve some social problems without too much rewards. Finally, people might perform their jobs on the grounds that they can obtain enormous pleasure, and they are deeply infatuated with their job.

In conclusion, while salaries certainly help to drive people to work hard, it is unfair to state that money outweighs all other motivators.