The only way to improve road safety is to impose severe punishments for driving offences. Do you agree or disagree?

Road safety has long been an issue of concern to the public, and to the government as well. Nothing qualifies as a sufficient compensation when a road accident occurs. Despite the painstaking effort to reduce the death, injury and trauma rate across the world, many countries are seeing traffic accidents increase exponentially. In improving road safety, some people advocate harsh punishment. In my opinion, it is nearly one of the many counter measures and cannot prevent all criminal offences on the road.

In many cases, many automobile accidents occur not because drivers belittle or defy road regulations but because those are unfamiliar to them. It is an everyday occurrence that rule-breaking acts and traffic crashes are linked to poor driving skills. Many drivers have limited experience in coping with different situations and an inaccurate estimation of the complexity of road conditions, despite having passed license tests. It alerts people to the loop holes in policies, such as the loose control over car used, low requirements on driving training and low license standards. In tackling those problems, it is imperative to require license applicants to attend more safe-driving courses and pass strict tests.

Besides education, other endeavors such as improving road infrastructure and transportation systems are equally important. Road conditions should be improved to allow different users, including drivers, cyclists and pedestrians, to use roads safely. Other facilities such as stop lights and stop sings, can be used wherever appropriate to curb speed driving. Furthermore, authorities can sponsor the research on road safety measures and effective precautions, such as identifying risk factors of different driving patterns. By translating these findings into policies and practices, the government is in a stronger position to protect vehicle occupants and vulnerable road users.

It can therefore be made clear that punishment is not the only way to cut the accident rate and improve people’s safety on road. Some other measures, such as increasing road users’ knowledge of rules and improving road infrastructure are all important.