In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

The government propose a solution to tackle traffic congestion problem, that is first tax the car drivers and then use the tax money on public transportation. This solution would certainly have some positive effects on the problem, meanwhile drawbacks also exist.

The benefit of posing tax on private divers are quite obvious in terms of directly dealing with the number of cars on streets. Introducing tax could alienate people from choosing car for commuting, especially when they are swaying between private transportation and public transportation. In addition to this, the tax money could be spent on funding more continent public transportation like subway and buses.

However, the shallowness of this policy is also stunning. First of all, it is not sure if the added tax could really drive people away from driving their own cars for work. Because it is very possible that a certain amount of people drive as public transportation could not get them where they are going. Thus, tax could not solve the problem but rip hard working people off. Second, place funding on public transportation has not grounds as there may already exists a surplus of public transportation, putting more money on redundant services would be nothing but a waste of money. Thus, more research needs to be done on this issue to evaluate the solution.

To conclude, there are both advantages and disadvantages of the government proposal. But the decision has to be made on more detailed information about the problem as it could work both ways.