In order to solve traffic problems essay, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation.What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution.

Roads and highways are the vital veins of any urban area around the world without which traveling in cities would face many problems. Nowadays the number of privet cars that are using these corridors increasing dramatically, thus traffic become an inevitable phenomenon in any city which could be addressed by different effective solutions like taxing. There are both merits and demerits to taxing the privet cars in order to control traffic that I intend to discuss.

Firstly, the benefits of this policy are worthy of note. One obvious advantage is that citizens could benefit in terms of health. Pollution is one of the deadly factors for human beings, exists in any metropolis, mainly caused by automobiles. I have recently read an article about this matter, which indicates that there is a rational correlation coefficient between contamination rooted in cars' engine in an area and rate of death in the same one. There is a further good point in view of the fact that tax could spend on the expansion of public transportation. For example, in my town, Tabriz, our city council has been executing this method for quite many years, and now, This city is one of the cleanest cities in my country. These examples clearly illustrate the importance of following this kind of actions to maintain dwellers general health.

However, there are certain disadvantages to this approach. Considering many poor members of our society would suffer financially. For example, taxi drivers are a good case in point. A vast majority of not wealthy people in a city who rely on their cars to make some money by transporting people in the city. This decision cause an unnecessary cost for them that they cannot afford it. There is another disadvantage, and it is related to the cities where their public transportation needs a lot of development to support their population demand. For an instant, when I was younger, one day I decided to use our newly opened metro in our town instead of bringing my own vehicle. It was one of the most miserable days of my life due to I reached to my destination not only approximately one hour late, but I also became exhausted for the limited subway lines, which made me walk loge distances to reach to the nearest station. Although these policies do sound constructive, without considering all groups of society and former infrastructure preparation, would be functionless.

On balance, having compared the positives and the negatives; I strongly believe that the merits by far outweigh the demerits. In my point of view, any action has been taken should consider its caveats, which in this case are poor citizens and well-equipped facilities. As a result, charging privet car owners for improving public transportation systems is a great idea that has so many beneficial side effects.