Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems

It is true that there are a variety of issues resulting from the escalating number of people residing in cities. This tendency can have detrimental impacts on the quality of air and human health in the long run, but measures can be taken by the government and residents to address future problems.

As more people move into towns, several relevant problems can be anticipated. The main issue is that the exhaust fumes released from a growing number of private vehicles on the streets and lack of space for green environments in the city due to the construction of housing infrastructure to accommodate a larger population size, which lead to the degradation of air quality. As a result, citizens will be prone to suffer from health problems related to the respiratory system. Moreover, the growing number of city residents also makes it possible for the faster spread of contagious diseases. In other words, air pollution and a greater possibility of spreading infectious diseases among the community are the two primary matters of overpopulation in cities.

Since such issues are serious the government and individuals should join hands to immediately combat these problems. The first solution would be that the national authorities should invest more in urbanization of the countryside or the outskirts of the cities in order to encourage people to move into these regions and alleviate the number of city dwellers. The second measure would be improvement in the public transport system and giving free access to these mass transits with a view to appealing more commuters opting for this means of transport, thus, it will help to reduce the sheer volume of generated emissions.

In conclusion, there are various negative consequences of increasing population in urban estates and appropriate steps need to be taken to tackle these issues not only by the government but also by individuals.