Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems

It is true that there are a variety of issues resulting from overcrowding in cities. This tendency can have detrimental impacts on the quality of air and human health in the long run, but measures can be taken by the government and residents to address these problems.

As cities become more crowded, several relevant problems can be anticipated. The main issue is the exhaust fumes released from a sheer volume of private vehicles on the streets and the lack of space for green environments in the cities due to the construction of housing infrastructure to accommodate a large number of people, which may lead to the degradation of air quality. As a result, citizens will be prone to suffer from health problems related to the respiratory system. Moreover, the growing number of city residents also makes it possible to spread dangerous contagious diseases. In other words, air pollution and a greater possibility of spreading infectious diseases among the community are the two primary matters of overpopulation in cities.

Since such issues are serious the government and individuals should join hands to immediately combat these problems. The first solution would be that the national authorities should invest more in the urbanization of the countryside or the outskirts of the cities to encourage people to move into these regions and alleviate the number of city dwellers. The second measure would be raising people’s awareness about the adverse impacts of overpopulation, thus, they must be aware of taking effective use of birth control methods and cooperate with the states to control cities’ overcrowding issues.

In conclusion, overpopulation in urban estates can lead to air pollution and poorer people’s physical conditions and appropriate steps need to be taken to tackle these issues not only by the government but also by individuals.