In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With the increased use of computers, the internet, and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

In modern civilization, the issue of how technological advancement influences human’s life has been grown a spark of controversies among generations. During the last centuries, people tend to commute to their workplace for work or study. Fortunately, however, thanks to the advent of artificial intelligence such as smartphones, computers or even the internet, a remarkable number of people choosing to work from home is rising at a surprising speed. Although there are a multitude of significant advantages of this tendency, people should not underestimate some drawbacks occurred.

First and foremost, working from home brings in multiple benefits for people in terms of controlling and managing their own valuable intervals of time. This could be demonstrated by the fact that they are able to establish personal schedules in order to accomplish most of the long-term and short-term tasks from their workplace. Besides, workers can make any decisions associated with entertaining and academic purposes without superiors’ allowance. Therefore, these results in saving time for workers as well as lead s to an increase in efficiency that actual workplace could not offer. Moreover, tranquil space turns out to be one of the most dominant aspects of working at home since being supported by advanced devices. In lieu of surrounding with other co-workers at the offices, which can be clearly seen from the view is that internet combing with pieces of equipment would connect people without geographical barriers. Thus, those people can boost their productivity by providing for themselves an ideal environment for work where other distractions can not reduce their effectiveness.

Notwithstanding, even though working from home offers potential value for employees, it could not be denied some inevitable disadvantages of applying this form of working. Lacking of face-to-face interaction seems to be a noticeable adversity when running business merely on technical equipment. Unsatisfied performances and diminished progress, to some extent, are considered to trigger the prevention of employees from developing as well as fostering their work. As a consequence, this causes a procrastinating trend among workers while performing tasks at the workplace could tackle this problem amazingly. In addition, if people opt for remote work, the security risk will become an alarming issue. In a specific circumstance, when the information is published on the internet, it is straightforward to be stolen by others and almost unfeasible to take all back, especially for banking services. Also, storing data and transferring money online exposes both employees to potential vulnerabilities in general. Thereby, concern about data security is regarded as a challenge for working from home.

All of this being said, alongside prevalent remote work advantages namely flexible time and peaceful places, practical experiences gaining from reality are still appreciated rather than virtual process. Depending on actual conditions of economic development, authorities should prioritize to work under a particular form or run parallel two patterns simultaneously aiming to maximize the profits.