In the past, sporting champions used to be motivated primarily by the desire to win a match or to break world records. These days they are more likely to be motivated by prize money and the opportunity to be famous.

What message does this send to young people and how does this attitude to sport affect the sports themselves?

Sports is gaining more and more popularity day by day. In past decades the primary motivation of athletes was either to win matches or set up new world records. This scenario changed massively as prize money and being famous have become principal goals of many players. In addition these sends a loud and clear message to the next generation that sports is the best way to achieve fame and money. This type of attitudes evident numerous negative effect in the sports world such as crashing young prospects career as well as creating faulty role model among upcoming athletes.

Sports is an effective way to make a country proud. It used to be. However, these mindsets changed among many as various appealing tournaments or native leagues have been established providing lucrative paycheck just for participation. As a result, many athletes tend to play for huge salaries and popularity. These broadcasts a lesson to the youth that sports is the most attractive livelihood to gain enormous wealth and popularity. Moreover, kids follow this path as these are desired by all of us. To cite an example, cricketers now prefer to play big domestic leagues such as IPL as the pay massively. sometimes cricketer favor participating IPL over national team.

On the other hand, when young prospects debuted in the field, they instantly get fame and sponsors for just a few good performances. Due to this, many prospects failed to reach their full potential as they can't control themselves in the limelight. Futhermore, they lose their ambition and end their career as failures. Futhermore, next generation of players follow the stars of today. Sometimes well know players become so blind in their fame, they do terrible stuffs such as drunk driving, drug addiction, etc. These may provoke youth into the wrong path. For instance, Ronaldinho was the best football player of the last decade, soon after achieving success he was mentioned in various drug rackets and law-breaking offenses. At the end, he retirement ended his promising career.

In a nutshell, sportsmen are the most loved personalities around the world. When they focus on money or being famous, it encourages other to be an athlete to gain those benefits. This kind of mind sets may lead to adverse ramification such as finishing many promising careers of young sportsmen as well as generating a defective idols.