People are living longer after they retire. What are the problems? What can be done to solve the problems?

With the harnessing of cutting-edge technology in medical services, pensioners’ health these days are improving greater than ever, which results in prolonging their lifespan. However, this will trigger several unanticipated problems that will be examined in this essay as well as some of the proposed measures.

To begin with, the fact that retired people are able to live longer might bring about a plethora of problems. One of the most irrefutable issues is to put them at high risks of easily contracting the deadly diseases since the immune system deems to deteriorate as time goes by. Take the coronavirus pandemic in Italy as a prime example, this virus has infected and claimed millions of lives which are mostly elderly people. Additionally, what retired people might suffer from living longer is dementia. Vietnam, for instance, the number of retired people with difficulty in memory is growing exponentially due to the lack of brain-involved activities, which has reduced significantly the level of happiness in their lives.

Encouraging retired people to work out frequently and reading newspapers are supposed to be the optimal solutions to address the described problems. First and foremost, what the government should take immediate actions is to urge pensioners to take top priority for doing exercise. This is because doing light exercises on a regular basis, including walking and running, might build up resilience to the immune system, which, in turn, will contribute to the battle against the penetration of bacterias and viruses. In tandem with this, immersing in newspapers regularly is believed to help the retired people to steer clear of memory loss. This is because reading newspapers will facilitate the brain to remain active, providing them with a precious opportunity to better their lives at a ripe old age.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that the lifespan of pensioners tends to last longer in light of the breakthroughs in public healthcare services. Nonetheless, this positive sign might have some unpredictable problems that have detrimental effects on elderly people.