People believe the society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging. However, others argue that there are still some advantages of adverts.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Advertising has taken many different forms these days. While some people believe that advertising serves no useful purpose in the society there are others who think there are still some advantages of adverts. Here in this essay I shall try to discuss both the views & give my opinion on it.

To commence with, it seems logically right to put a ban on all forms of advertising and the simplest reason one can find is that the advertisements are often misleading. Companies advertise their brands with an intent to increase their personal profits, many a times using inappropriate methodologies. Furthermore they hire celebrities to speak for their products, or use CGI affects to visually create things which are otherwise not real. General public, unaware of the facts often fall prey to such traps, thus being tricked into buying the products which can harm them over prolonged usage.

However, completely banning the advertising industry will, first thing create an economic fallout since a large number of people are employed in it and they all will loose jobs. Secondly, not all the advertisements are misleading or harmful. The market is full of so many useful products, from medicines to baby products, from women hygiene to health products and all these products need advertising just so that people are aware of their availability. Sometimes government has to take help advertisement to convey something important to the general public.

To sum up I think not all forms of advertising should be banned, however there could be placed a meaningful check by some senior authority on what is being project to the common people.