People face for greater risks in our modern way of life when they did it in there past .How far do you agree or disagree?

It is undoubtedly true that the world has dramatically changed since a century ago and this inevitably has a considerable impact on our lifestyle. Our society has successfully dealt with many threats to humanity but nowadays we are facing new risks which were absent in the past.

In terms of health and illnesses, the improvement in healthcare has resulted in increasing the average human lifespan. However, the unhealthy diet and sedentary lifestyle the majority of people have, predispose them to developing a range of diseases. That is why, governments should consider what measures are needed to be taken against this global epidemic.

Another thing that have always presented a risk for people is crime. It is certain that today we are more protected from dangerous criminals because of the strict punishments which are received for committing an illegal action. Although newspapers and televisions are creating a perception of risk from violent attacks at public places, the statistics definitely show that the crime rate is decreasing.

Modern inventions like nuclear power stations could be regarded as life-threatening, tough a dangerous incident is extremely unlikely to occur. The chance of an airplane catastrophe is also commonly overestimated. In fact, the air transport is the second safest mean after railway transport. Moreover, people are afraid of natural disasters such as earthquakes, floods and even eruptions of volcanoes. They can undeniably cause a large part of world’s population to suffer and make a great damage to the infrastructure, but the actual risks which they pose are insignificant.

All in all, the substantial technological progress that we have made reduces the risks we face today. Although there are still some very serious perils, in my view they will be probably solved within the next century.