People have little understanding of the importance of the natural world what are the reasons and how can people learn more about the natural world ?

It is true that people nowadays critically lack comprehension about nature. A number of factors can be held responsible for this worrying trend, which can be addressed by certain measures.

There are two reasons for the public’s low awareness of the importance of nature. One factor is the general public’s heedlessness towards such a subject. Most people are primarily concerned about issues that seem to bear direct relevance to their welfare or have an immediate impact on their life such as economic development, education or healthcare. Hence, problems such as environmental degradation, accelerating clime change, the preservation of food chain, biodiversity or the coexistence of the ecology are mostly not even close to desires to know of many. The education programs at school should also be to blame. To be more specific, curriculums tend to place too much emphasis on important subjects such as science or language and practical skills. As a result of such unjust prioritization, lessons on the natural world would inevitably be sidelined or completely abstracted, leading to youngsters’ neglect of this issue.

However, this situation could possibly be relieved by the following solutions. Firstly, citizens are highly recommended to be exposed to the visual inputs from the mass media about the natural beauty and its importance, and it sounds realistic to convey this type of information via documentaries, reality shows, TV brief yet lingering facts with attractive illustrations should be made omnipresent in public places such as city squares or bus stops to draw public attention. Secondly, mainstream academic contents should be incorporated with lessons or extracurricular activities to promote awareness about the natural world. Besides, students should be encouraged to participate in competitions about certain environmental problems, or frequent visits to wildlife reserves should be organized.

In conclusion, reasons for people’s lack of understanding about nature can be explained by some reasons, but proper solutions can be taken to help them learn more about the world around them