The unlimited use of cars cause many problems. What are those problems ? In order to reduce the problems, should we discourage people ro use cars ?

Nowadays, with the rapid development of technology and science, having a car has become an essential part of many people’s lives. It can be undeniable that it offers flexibility to their life and work, however, this lead to a range number of danger issues for human beings which have been identified. While some people suggest that the government should enact a strict law to restrict use of cars, I firmly believe that it is not a good option to tackle these problems

The difficulties associated with frequent car use are becoming increasingly familiar to the general public. Firstly, the widespread use of cars has real environmental costs. Vehicles are the major source which releases a vast amount of toxic gas to the environment. It is reported that road traffic is the source of one-third of all harmful air pollution in the world. Specifically, carbon dioxide is created in operating of an internal combustion engine, which causes global warming or does a detriment to human health such as acid rain, greenhouse, and gas emission. Secondly, it is discernible that the use of cars makes a great contribution to create traffic congestion. As more and more citizens drive their own cars to work than a cycle or take public transport, there are heavy traffic jams almost every day at rush hours. Therefore, car accidents cause huge numbers of casualties every year.

To solve these problems, some people propose that the authority should impose a strict restriction on the use of cars, nevertheless, I do not think this is the best option, because this would lead to reduce mobility for people and decline in the car industry. I think a better solution would be for car manufacturers to design more environmentally friendly cars which run on solar power or hydrogen. Furthermore, traffic problems can be alleviated by building more underground tunnels and parking garages, and safety problems can be avoided by educating drivers as well as pedestrians to use greater caution on the road.

In conclusion, the role of the private car is not entirely replaceable soon but its effect on global change is easy to consider. In my opinion, while discouraging the car use might seem a quick solution to the problem the human is facing, it is mostly unlikely to be a permanent cure.