Computers are increasingly used in education. In which areas do you think are computers more important and in which areas are teachers more important?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s world, computers are essential in many areas of my life – medical, accounting and including education. It has always been a controversial issue over whether the computers or lecturers are deemed more significant for the training system. While people argue that the latter alternative would be better for students, I firmly believe that both are indispensable in children’s learning.

It is true that in some areas of education, computers could be more necessary than teachers. Application of computers in the arena of academics is well-acknowledged by all people around the world. For instance, for distance learning system, online courses are very prevalent and a plethora of websites provide videos and networked tutorials for students who can learn fundamental concepts over the web in absence of instruction. With abundant materials and references, students can access the information which they want to have a deeper insight into a filed or a study. Additionally, computers can process a huge amount of data per second and thus can be more advantageous to learners while conducting research work or in scientific experiments.

On the contrary, in the learning and practice of more complex ideas, the computer is not adequate. A computer can evaluate an answer as right or wrong, but it can not determine why. It can not find out why a student is making mistakes and then represent important concepts in a different way so the student will understand. It cannot verify at what stage in a mathematics problem the student has made an error. Furthermore, a teacher not only teaches us lessons from academic books, they actually but also instill most important human characteristics among us such as morality and all the good quantities of life where computers have almost zero contributions in doing so. Teachers are more important in explaining intricacies of academic and personal life and can become great mentors for students. In all these cases, a human teacher seems crucial in class

In conclusion, both computers and teachers play equally important roles in children’s various stage of their education.