Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Some people suggest that the circumstances of a crime, and the reasons for committing it should be taken into consideration when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Sentencing for those found guilty of crimes presents a difficult challenge because justice must be seen to do for both victims and perpetrators. It has always been a controversial issue over whether exemplary punishments or adjustable penalties should be handed out for crimes. While people argue that the former has more advantages, I firmly believe that the latter is a better alternative to judge each crime individually

Mandatory sentencing has the benefit that everyone is conscious of exactly the sentence they can expect if they found guilty of a particular crime. This system will certainly improve judgment efficiency. Since the discipline for each crime has already been given in law books, judges only have to pronounce the verdict. Also when the punishments are consistent with regulations established previously, there will be few conflicts

Unfortunately, the above arguments in favor of a fixed punishment are not as logical as they sound. Human behavior is almost always influenced by situations and crime is no exceptions. Removing the ability of judges to adjust sentences on the basis of the circumstances of a crime may also lead to injustice because it assumes that any two people who commit murders have the same level of moral culpability although they have entirely different motives. For example, one of them who merely tried to save oneself from the attacker and murdered someone accidentally is ethically different to the other who committed the act with the deliberate intention to kill. Furthermore, it may be inappropriate to give juveniles the same sentence as adults. They should be had the opportunity to change their behavior and perhaps become a productive and law-abiding citizen. In contrast, a person who is older and committed many crimes might receive a heavier penalty as they are more likely to re-offend in future and heavier sentences are needed to protect the community

In conclusion, mandatory sentencing may lead to unfair because the same crime may be committed for very different reasons. When deciding the sentences, the judge should take into consideration not only the severity of crime but also a person’s history and the chance for rehabilitation