In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career. Which of these two systems is more appropriate in today's world?

It has always been a controversial issue over whether general education or specific education is deemed more suitable for children. Even though some people argue that the latter alternative could prepare students better for future employment, I firmly believe that both educational systems are required in children's development

It is an undeniable fact that children would be much better off if they have access to abundant knowledge in a diverse range of fields. This is necessary for them to deal with a multitude of problems they might encounter in their daily life. For instance, simple mathematical calculations would come to the rescue in case of totaling up the bill; fundamental knowledge of chemical terms would be of huge assistance if you are picking up prescription or drugs in a pharmaceutical store; malfunctioning electrical appliances due to ignorance of basic knowledge of electricity could be quite unsettling; current affairs including momentous events happening in spheres of economy or politics around the globe are often considered good conversation openers in occasions of social mingling or business dinner. Hence, it is somehow necessary for children to receive general education in their early stage of schooling

As children grow up, specific education on teaching one or two particular subjects is thought more useful for them. This is simply due to the fact that a significant proportion of general knowledge imparted to students in secondary or tertiary education would have most likely been forgotten once they start their career. The jobs available nowadays increasingly demand job seekers with one particular skill. Therefore, it is more sensible to place students on a more focused education once they reach the phase of secondary education. In this way, students could be more prepared for their work ahead

In conclusion, both general and specific education play equally important roles in children's various stages of their life. It is reasonable to take advantage of both educational systems so as to develop their potential to the fullest