Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Crime education is of paramount importance in any country, but the way it can be conducted is often a topic of debate in society in today’s world. While I agree with the idea that allowing such people to speak to teenagers about their experiences to discourage them from breaking the law, I also believe that there are better alternatives to this problem, as will now be discussed

In my opinion, teenagers are more likely to accept advice from someone who can speak from experience. Reformed offenders can tell young people about how they became involved in crime, the dangers of criminal lifestyles and what life in prison is really like. They can also dispel any ideas that teenagers may have about criminals leading glamorous lives. While adolescents are often indifferent to the guidance given by older people, I imagine that most of them would be extremely keen to hear the stories of an ex-offender. I think that the students may be aware of the consequences of engaging in criminal activities when attending a talk given by ex-prisoners.

However, I believe that a combination of different education methods would produce a more desirable result compared to a former prisoner holding a talk. Primarily, parents should act as pioneers to educate children at an early age about social evils and how to avoid them. It has long been acknowledged that the home environment has a profound effect on the development of a child and a significant percentage of juvenile crime stems from insufficient education criminals receive in their childhood. Teachers at schools or even informational films also play an important role in raising the awareness of students about crime. Moral lessons ought not to be neglected in the classroom, and a positive education circumstances should be promoted, contributing to restrict infringement.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned before, a talk given by ex-offenders, albeit effective, is not the best education way for crime education.