In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career. Which of these two systems is more appropriate in today's world?

Some country’s elementary school curriculum includes basic education on variety of subjects while in other countries, elementary students only study selected subjects with in-depth focus. I believe that former education system is better for the students. In this essay, I will discuss the benefits of both the systems and provide support statements that proves general education system for range of subjects is superior to other.

Let’s start with the benefits of basic education for many subjects. This system will offer brief knowledge about different subjects, thus giving students over view of varied subjects. Therefore, students could choose their further course of study from variety of courses they studied and they can choose their best-loved subject as majors. Moreover, if student have knowledge about different subjects, he could enhance this knowledge at university level, which could be very difficult if he had not studied that subject at all. Another significant benefit is that, a student who have diversified subject knowledge can guide his younger siblings or friends, which subject to focus more or which subject is harder to study or interesting subjects. In short, student could help others only if he had familiarity about course.

On the other side, studying limited number of subjects with detailed knowledge is also beneficial. This could make their foundation strong, hence students could score splendidly at college education. Also, this system will release a lot of burden from students as lesser number of subjects means lesser studies, lesser number of exams and lesser classes as well. It also requires more professional teachers with true knowledge about the subjects, so that they can mentor the children exceptionally in that particular field.

In conclusion, I believe that, although focused studies with less number of subjects has its own advantages such as less burden on children and teachers, thorough knowledge about subjects but learning basic knowledge about various subjects is more fruitful. Study of variety of subjects gives more opportunities to students to explore and choose their best interested subject at college. In short ‘being jack of all trades and master of none’ is more beneficial these days.