The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern lifestyle. What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, there is a tremendous increase in the consumption of fast food and it is believed that it is a good way to keep pace with the busy lifestyle. In this essay, I will examine various advantages and disadvantages of this trend and provide a conclusion that states weather it is more advantageous or hazardous.

Lets start with advantages, there are few advantages of preferring fast food over nutritious food. They do not require much cooking time thus one could use his time for other productive activity. It is very essential for university students and hectic job employees to manage time appropriately thus convenience food saves a lot of preparation and cooking time. Also sometimes it is not possible to carry traditional food when you travel. this way convenience food is a best option during trips and vacations.

On the other side, there are some drawbacks of being dependent on convenience food. this habit has made us more lethargic. it is common to see that even though we are free or someone visit our house, we prefer to serve convenience food as it saves a lot of effort. Another significant disadvantage of loving convenience food is that it is not as healthy and nutritious as other freshly cooked food. Further these fast foods are coated with some harmful preservative in order to stay fresh for long time. Ready to eat food is really considered unhealthy and it is root cause of various chronic diseases such as diabetes, high cholesterol and many others.

In conclusion, Although convenience food helps us keep up with the speed of modern lifestyle but its routine consumption has several unavoidable disadvantages such as it badly effects our health, makes us more lethargic. In short its advantages do not outweigh its disadvantages.