The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up the speed of the modern lifestyle. What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been a dramatic change in the lifestyle of people over the years and they have become busier. The availability of readymade food has made it easy to maintain this modern lifestyle. While there are some clear benefits to this situation, I personally believe that the drawbacks are more significant.

The main advantage of the convenience food is that it saves the time which is spent in cooking food. As a result, people can utilize this time for other purposes such as relaxing and doing other recreational activities. Moreover, the productivity of work has increased. For instance, there are many food stalls available at the workplace; thus one finds it convenient to have lunch with so many options to choose. Also, one does not have to wake up early to cook food.

On the other hand, there are many disadvantages associated with readymade food. For example, it may be unhealthy and unhygienic. Firstly, it does not provide complete nutrition and contains preservatives which are harmful if consumed in excess quantity. For example, studies have linked the rise in cancer cases to the high content of preservatives in the packed food. In addition, the standards of hygiene are not maintained in many food stalls. This can lead to the spreading of diseases such as typhoid and cholera and reduce the productivity of people.

To conclude, time saving is the main advantage of the availability of convenience food; however, in my opinion, the disadvantages of regular consumption of readymade food outweigh the advantages. Given this, it is recommended that people should give up their dependence on packaged food and consume more homemade food.