Many people make friends through social sites and chat rooms. Others believe that it is not a good idea to make friends without meeting them face to face. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your own opinion and relevant examples.

Like many other relationship, friendship is also an essential part of our life. We never hesitate to share our secrets with friends and life would be really impossible without friends but the matter of concern is their place of availability these days. In this modern worlds, we could be a friend to anonymous person within a click of few buttons on-screen. There are no distance barriers, technological barriers left. However, some people believe that it is not a wise decision to be friend with some stranger online, it is advisable to make friends by meeting them face to face. I completely agree with their belief and this essay presents the reasons for my agreement.

To begin with, it is really common to see these days that cyber crimes had increased tremendously in past few years. It is us who deliberately become victims of such crimes. When we look for friends on social networking site or chat rooms, no body will authenticate us with their real identities. For example, when we become friends, we never hesitate to share our personal details, photographs and even our best-loved locations, this has increased the confidence of fraudsters who can blackmail us using our private photographs or stalking us at our favorite restaurants. Moreover, they could misuse our information For an instance, in 2016, cyber police detained a group of people who produces forged identity proofs using the social account details. To a great surprise, A research study conducted by Harvard University in 2010, showed that fifty percents of the accounts were fake and created with the intention of cheating.

Meeting friends online has made us more isolated, we never try to socialize ourselves, we are happy with our virtual friends who we do not know whether actually exists or not. So another prime reason that supports to meet friends face to face is to be little social and come out of our virtual friendship world.

In conclusion, friendship is the most pure relationship in the world. There are many ways by which we could find new friends such as, through our friend circle, university or education institutes or local residence and even online. However, making friends online could be dangerous as some people take advantage of this relationship by cheating poor people online. I agree that we should try to meet friends face to face so that we become social and special part of society do not segregate from others.