People have little understanding of the importance of the natural world. What are the

reasons and how can people learn more about the natural world?

Today people know less and less about the significance of nature and this is a sad truth. This essay is to discuss causes for this and explore ways to help people learn more about mother nature. There are several reasons why people have limited understanding of the importance of the natural world. Firstly, today humans cluster in cities, away from the wilderness. Apart from the physical distance, the hectic pace of city life makes us reluctant to connect with nature. Secondly, the boom of digital media is also to blame. In the past, it was easier for a show about nature to gain viewership; today, the same content often struggles to attract viewers as audiences are lost in the abundance of choices. This explains why nature has become less popular. Following are some solutions to help people learn more about nature. To begin with, school curriculums should carry more contents about nature. More importantly, an innovative approach is needed; instead of textbook preaching, teachers should organise field trips into the wild where students can observe and learn first-hand. In addition, adventure tourism may encourage adults to explore more about nature. For many, the concept of tourism is reduced to the indulgence in hospitality services rather than adventure. The new approach enables them to embark on a more adventurous journey, hence, connect better with nature. In conclusion, nature is an integral part of human existence; therefore, people should better understand the importance of the natural world, to respect and protect it.