People live longer today and so people should stay in the workforce longer. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, there is a public debate about the workforce. It is acknowledged that people live longer in this day and age. Therefore, they should work longer than in the past. From my perspective, I remain unconvinced with this view.

To begin with, the most frequent factor contributing to my view is that elder people stay in the labour force longer would reduce the chance for the young generation. One example to demonstrate this point is that according to the research on youth employment in Australia, published in 2016, prior to the crisis, youth unemployment was 8.8%, which was close to the low rate of the 1970s. In order to foster the economy, the government in this country enacted the laws about increasing the working years of older, the proportion of unemployed young people in this country increased to 13.9%. That made this country go into recession. As a result, the fact that older people stay in the labour force longer can put this country at risk of economic downturn.

In addition, one explanation to support my view is that people cannot meet the demand of jobs when getting older because of their weak physical health. In reality, studies in this field showed that people from 50-55 years old are more susceptible to stress, which can result in the weakening of their health to contribute to their work as well as the decrease in the productivity. As this example reveals, it is apparent that people cannot ensure the work quality when getting older. Consequently, they need to retire after many years of working.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that people stay in the workforce longer can arise many demerits for our society. As a consequence of this, I totally disagree with the statement that the working hours should be longer since people have higher life expectancy in comparison with in the past.